About The Officers

Officers of the Richmond Association include a President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer. Officers are elected for a one-year term at the annual meeting of the Association. The Past-President serves as the chair of the nominating committee and is a member of the Executive Committee.


Brett Degnan

Brett is a Math teacher at St. Catherine’s School in Richmond, Va. She graduated from the College of William and Mary, and has four school aged children. She is grateful for every educational opportunity she has received and is honored to work on behalf of PBK members to share her joy of lifelong learning and support the higher education goals of scholarship recipients.

Vice President

Cristina Ramirez MPA, MSLS, MA

Cristina graduated from Louisiana State University, and is the Assistant Area Library Manager for the Varina Area Library at HCPL. She also serves on the Board of Directors,  Richmond Chapter, Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities; Commissioner, Richmond Human Rights Commission; Director, Asian & Latino Solidarity Alliance of Central Virginia; and Board of Trustees, Science Museum of Virginia.


If you are interested in serving as treasurer, please contact Brett Degnan at k.brett.degnan@gmail.com.


If you are interested in serving as secretary, please contact Brett Degnan at k.brett.degnan@gmail.com.


E. Wayne Powell, RA President (Vice President of RA, 2012-13). Wayne Powell is an attorney with the Powell Law Group in Richmond, VA. He graduated from the University of Richmond and was initiated into Phi Beta Kappa in 1972.